Regents Professor Award

The A&M System Board of Regents established the Regents Professor Award program in 1996. The purpose of this Award is to recognize and honor individuals at the rank of professor or equivalent who have provided exemplary service as faculty members not only to their university, agency or health science center component, but also to the community, the State of Texas, and/or at the international level. This award is specifically for faculty within the nine A&M System institutions (including Galveston campus), the System Health Science Center, and the Agricultural and Engineering Programs.

The Regents Professors in the College of Geosciences

Richard Carlson Awarded in 2003

Rick Carlson

Dr. Rick Carlson has been with Texas A&M since 1977 and retired in 2017. He taught various courses including physical geology, mineralogy, geophysical methods, global geophysics, geodynamics, and geomechanics. Dr. Carlson was appointed the Associate Director of the Geodynamics Research Institute in 1987 and was the inaugural holder of the Dudley J. Hughes Endowed Chair in the department since 2002. He was part of the department when the merger between the Department of Geology and the Department of Geophysics into the Department of Geology and Geophysics occurred. Beginning in 2003, he served as Head of the Department of Geology and Geophysics. Dr. Carlson was also very active in various university and college committees including serving as Speaker for the University’s Faculty Senate.

Outside of Texas A&M, Dr. Carlson served a term as the Director of the National Science Foundation (NSF) Marine Geology and Geophysics Program, an Associate Editor for the Journal of Geophysical Research, a Science Advisor to the Ocean Drilling Program.

Dr. Carlson’s research interests are in rock physics, with application to the structure, evolution, composition, and physical state of the oceanic crust and lithosphere.

Philip Rabinowitz awarded in 2004

Philip Rabinowitz

Dr. Philip Rabinowitz came to Texas A&M in 1981 as a Professor in the Department of Oceanography and was the inaugural director of the Ocean Drilling Program (1983), now the International Ocean Discovery Program. In 1988, Dr. Rabinowitz transferred to the Department of Geology & Geophysics and then in 1993, became the Interim Head of the Department of Geology and Geophysics, and served as the Head of the Department from 1994 until 1998. His service to Texas A&M was for more than 20 years. Dr. Rabinowitz’s professional interests include marine geology and geophysics, plate tectonic reconstruction and scientific ocean drilling.

Christopher Mathewson awarded in 2005

Christopher Mathewson

Dr. Mathewson received a Bachelor of Science degree in Civil Engineering from Case Institute of Technology in Cleveland, Ohio, in 1963; and his Master of Science and Doctoral degrees in Geological Engineering from the University of Arizona in 1965 and 1971. He has presented over 500 papers, published over 90 technical papers, edited 4 technical volumes and is the author of a textbook in Engineering Geology. In addition, he is active in the profession, having served as President of the American Geoscience Institute, President of the Association of Environmental and Engineering Geologists, and Chair of the Engineering Geology Division/Geological Society of America, among other society positions. Governor Rick Perry appointed Dr. Mathewson to the Texas Board of Professional Geoscientists in May 2012. In April 2019, Dr. Mathewson was specifically recognized for his lifetime efforts to merge science and people through his service, but more importantly through his mentoring of his many students who continue to carry the geologic message to the public. The National Association of State Boards of Geology (ASBOG) recognized Dr. Christopher C. Mathewson, Regents Professor Emeritus at Texas A&M University, with the James Hutton Lifetime Service award at their recent Council of Examiners meeting in Nashua, New Hampshire.

Mary Jo Richardson awarded in 2006

Mary Jo Richardson

Dr. Richardson has been a professor in the Department of Oceanography since 1985. She was served as the Interim Dean of the College of Geosciences from 2002 to 2004 and was the Associate Dean for Academic Affairs for the College of Geosciences and Maritime Studies from 1993 until 2002.

Dr. Richardson received her undergraduate degree in geology and mathematics from Smith College and her Ph.D. in oceanography from MIT/Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution. Her research interests are in the dynamics and biogeochemistry of particle formation, sinking, transport, and deposition in the ocean from the continental shelf to the deep sea and from surface waters to the seafloor. She has also been an inspiring leader in increasing the participation and advancement of women in science and engineering careers for which she received an NSF ADVANCE-IT Award and in increasing diversity in geosciences through enhanced undergraduate and graduate experiences for which she received an NSF S-STEM Award.

John Nielsen-Gammon awarded in 2011

John Nielsen-Gammon

Dr. John Nielsen-Gammon has been on the faculty in the Department of Atmospheric Sciences since 1991. He graduated from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, receiving a Ph.D. there in 1990. He conducts research on various types of extreme weather from droughts to floods, as well as air pollution and computer modeling. He teaches courses in weather analysis and forecasting, climate, climate change, and computer modeling. He is a Fellow of the American Meteorological Society and in 2000 was appointed by then-Governor George W. Bush as the Texas State Climatologist. As the State Climatologist, he helps the State of Texas make the best possible use of weather and climate information, through applied research, outreach, and service on state-level committees.

Lisa Campbell awarded in 2018

Lisa Campbell

Dr. Campbell is the first female awarded with an endowed chair and currently holds the William R. Bryant Chair in Oceanography. She has been a faculty member in the Department of Oceanography since 1996. Dr. Campbell’s research focuses on biological oceanography, Phytoplankton ecology, Harmful Algal Blooms and ocean observing systems. She has received numerous awards and recognition during her tenure at Texas A&M including, The Association for the Sciences of Limnology & Oceanography’s Sustaining Fellow Award and The Association of Former Students Award for Distinguished Achievement in Teaching, both in 2015, the Women’s Faculty Network Outstanding Mentoring Award in 2014, the Dean’s Distinguished Achievement Award for Faculty Research in the College of Geosciences in 2009, and the Sigma XI Research Award, to name a few.

Antoinetta Quigg awarded in 2018

Antoinetta Quigg

Dr. Quigg serves in a joint appointment, as a professor in the Department of Oceanography and as the Texas A&M-Galveston’s senior associate vice president for research and graduate studies. Her research primarily centers on phytoplankton ecophysiology, physiological adaptation, photosynthesis, biological oceanography, biochemistry and biophysics, molecular biology, plant physiology, and evolution.