The Geosciences Innovator Award

2018 Winner, The Weather Channel

2018 Winner, The Weather Channel

The College of Geosciences recognizes individuals, groups of individuals, or entities with the Geosciences Innovator Award for outstanding innovations and contributions, individually or collectively, in the geosciences for the greatest benefit to our quality of life, economic and environmental resilience and sustainability and in stewardship of the planet.


Applies to individual, groups or entities

  • Award recipients are not required to be Former Students of Texas A&M.
  • Demonstrable stewardship of planet Earth and its sustainability in personal, organizational and educational pursuits.
  • In alignment with the Texas A&M University’s core values of excellence, integrity, leadership, loyalty, respect, and selfless service.
  • Producing applied research, products, and/or services that serve the greater good.
  • Significant voluntary contributions of energy, time, creativity, and skills for the advancement of community welfare, discovery, education, social or government service.

Guidelines for Consideration of Candidates

The Innovator Award is intended for recognition of individuals or teams that are external to the university, however, a Texas A&M former student or affiliate within an entity, group or team does not exclude eligibility.


Nomination packets will be comprised of the following:

  • a completed nomination form (incomplete submissions will not be considered), which includes, a letter of nomination written by the nominator(s) (required),

Optional supporting materials may be submitted and may include but are not limited to:

  • letters of support that specifically address the award criteria,
  • a current biography or curriculum vitae for the nominee,
  • newspaper and magazine articles,
  • personal stories,
  • other awards or certificates of achievement,
  • other items of interest that support the candidate's qualifications that should be considered by the Selection Committee.

Letters of support may be submitted by anyone with exception of members of the Selection Committee and the Dean.

Nomination Form

Previous Recipients

2020 Agilent Technologies
2019 Dawn Wright ‘86
2018 The Weather Channel
2017 Christian Siem, Siem Industries