

2024 Faculty and Staff Awards Ceremony

Thursday, May 2
The Zone Club at Kyle Field
4 p.m. - 7 p.m.

Schedule of Events

4 p.m. Welcome

Mark J. Zoran, Dean

4:15 p.m. - 5:15 p.m. Presentation of Awards

Cynthia Werner, Senior Executive Associate Dean

Staff Awards

Staff Excellence

Outstanding Leadership

Faculty Awards

Early Career Teaching

Undergraduate Mentoring

Graduate Mentoring

Service

Public Engagement and Outreach

Administration

Research Impact

Faculty Excellence

Outstanding Career

5:15 p.m. - 7 p.m. Reception



The College of Arts and Sciences Faculty and Staff Awards Program was established in 2023 to recognize and reward faculty and staff for their commitment to excellence, outstanding performance and selfless contributions. The variety of awards illustrates the breadth and depth of the newest and largest college at Texas A&M University through a program intended to create cohesion and collegiality across disciplines by showcasing the strength and potential in working together at all levels to realize our individual and collective goals.

Excellence is a standard in the College of Arts and Sciences that is evident in the quality of our teaching, research and service. The range of accomplishments and contributions across the humanities, natural sciences and social sciences we celebrate each year is a direct reflection of our college as the academic heart of Texas A&M and the result of the many dedicated people who keep it beating. Congratulations to one and all!

Staff Awards

Staff Excellence

Sandra Horton

Graduate Program Coordinator Chemistry

Bruce Hyman

Senior Research Associate Cyclotron Institute

Lieu Jean

Senior Administrative Coordinator Biology

Suzanne Rosser

Undergraduate Academic Advising Manager Geology and Geophysics

Outstanding Leadership

Ashley Corn

Undergraduate Academic Advising Manager Economics

Faculty Awards

Early Career Teaching

Jason Crider

Assistant Professor

English

Justine deGruyter

Instructional Assistant Professor

Chemistry

Christopher Dostal

Assistant Professor

Anthropology

Alexandra Foran

Instructional Assistant Professor

Mathematics

Undergraduate Mentoring

James Francis

Senior Lecturer

English

Alex Hernandez

Instructional Associate Professor

Sociology

David Tarvin

Instructional Associate Professor

Communication and Journalism

Christina Wiederwohl

Instructional Associate Professor

Oceanography

Graduate Mentoring

Jessica Fitzsimmons

Associate Professor

Oceanography

Li Gan

Professor

Economics

Service

Alexey Belyanin

Professor

Physics and Astronomy

Judith Chester

Professor

Geology and Geophysics

Public Engagement and Outreach

Albert Broussard

Professor

History

Administration

J. Kevin Barge

Professor

Communication and Journalism

Research Impact

Jessica Bernard

Associate Professor

Psychological and Brain Sciences

Emily Brady

Professor

Philosophy

Kira Delmore

Assistant Professor

Biology

Alexandru Hening

Assistant Professor

Mathematics

Alex Keene

Professor

Biology

Arthur Laganowsky

Associate Professor

Chemistry

Quentin Michaudel

Assistant Professor

Chemistry

Yang Ni

Associate Professor

Statistics

Courtney Schumacher

Professor

Atmospheric Sciences

Faculty Excellence

Angela Allen

Instructional Associate Professor

Mathematics

Mary Campbell

Professor

Sociology

Alain Lawo-Sukam

Associate Professor

Global Languages and Cultures

Soon Mi Lim

Instructional Associate Professor

Chemistry

Sarah McNamara

Assistant Professor

History

Terri Pantuso

Instructional Associate Professor

English

Outstanding Career

Tatiana Erukhimova

Instructional Professor

Physics and Astronomy

Melanie Hawthorne

Professor

Global Languages and Cultures

Marlan Scully

Distinguished Professor

Physics and Astronomy

