Regents Approve Miller as new Dean of Geosciences

Regents Approve Miller as new Dean of Geosciences 

07/17/09 - Kate C. Miller, professor of geophysics and former associate dean of the College of Science at the University of Texas at El Paso, was appointed Dean of the College of Geosciences today (August 17) by the Texas A&M System Board of Regents.

Miller’s selection followed an extensive search that considered candidates from leading geoscience programs in the United States.

Miller earned a bachelor’s degree in geological and geophysical sciences from Princeton University and a master’s and Ph.D. in geophysics from Stanford University. She previously served as chair of the Department of Geological Sciences at UTEP. Before joining the faculty at UTEP in 1991, she was a development geologist and an exploration geophysicist for Amoco Production Co. (now BP) in New Orleans. 

She was selected as a recipient of a 2001 University of Texas System Chancellor’s Council Award for Teaching Excellence and has been elected a Fellow of the Geological Society of America and a member of Sigma Xi, The Scientific Research Society. She holds memberships in the American Geophysical Union, the Geological Society of America, and the Society of Exploration Geophysicists and is licensed by the State of Texas as a Professional Geoscientist.

College of GeosciencesAtmospheric ScienceGeographyOceanographyGeology & GeophysicsEnvironmental ProgramsWater Degree Program